HOW TO WRITE A DICK by Colleen Collins, Shaun Kaufman

How_to_Write_a_Dick_cover  I have no ambitions to write a book.  Perhaps I am the only person on the planet who is not ‘writing a book’.   But I love reading about the mechanics of writing a book.  I am always downloading how-to’s (is that apostrophe correct?) on the subject, like Natalie Goldberg’s Writing Down the Bones.   That’s a great book, but what am I going to do with all that wonderful info it contains?  Beats me.  Or the one about your own MBA program in fiction writing.  I can’t remember the title of that one.  Darn.  Or the numerous how to self-publish on Amazon.  So many books, so little ambition.  But I digress.

I read a lot of mysteries.  Not too many hard boiled or noir types, but mystery lite, so to speak.  So when I saw this title pop up as a one-day freebie, I said to myself, “How can I NOT want to read a book about how P.I.s really operate?”

If you are interested in the basics of how detectives and P.I.s work, you will find this an interesting read.  The authors are P.I.s  and have been in the private eye business for a number of years.   The book has tons of information in it, but is filled with enough anecdotes from their personal experience to make for some really interesting reading.  It’s premise is ‘here’s how the P.I. biz works for you writers who have P.I.s as the protagonists in your stories.’ but in actuality, it makes for some fascinating reading for the non-writer who is just interested in the subject in general.

Factoid:  did you know that the expression private eye came from the Pinkerton logo of an eye?  Me neither.   Pinkerton-s-national-detective-agency-we-never-sleep

Colleen Collins has another book out, how-do-private-eyes-do-that-cover

I have just started this one, but is more a collection of factual data, rather than anecdotal and chatty.

So, go ahead and write your detective tale secure in the knowledge that your P.I. will ring true,  or start your own agency.  You could call it I Saw What You Did.    Dang, that’s a good name.  I think I’ll start an agency just so I can use that name.  Nah.  On second thought, too much work.  I don’t actually want to work.  I was born to be retired.

 

Leave a Reply

