ASSAULT WITH A DEADLY GLUE GUN by Lois Winston

assault-with-deadly-glue-gun  Here’s the plot from the website.  (Why should I knock myself out reinventing the wheel?):

When Anastasia Pollack’s gambling-addicted husband permanently cashes in his chips in Vegas, her life craps out. She’s left with two teenage sons, a mountain of debt, and her nasty, cane-wielding Communist mother-in-law. Not to mention a loan shark demanding fifty thousand dollars.

In spite of the dead person, R.I.P., this was a chirpy little read, lots of fun.  I mean, the title alone makes you smile especially if you are a crime story/detective story buff, right?

OK, so the MIL is kind of over-the-top.  But I loved the idea she was a Communist.  How often do you run across a Communist in a detective story, eh?

There is also her own mother living with her, and the MIL From Hell brings her dog, Manifesto, too.

Anastasia works for a crafts magazine.  And finds her boss dead, hot-glued to her chair.  I don’t know why, but I really loved that touch.  Maybe it is because I have often run across people I would very much like to hot glue to their chairs.  That and duct tape.  OK, so I’m a misanthrope.  So sue me.

Hot glued dead people,  a nasty dog named Manifesto, and a card-carrying Communist MIL.  What’s not to love?

Nah.  It’s not a serious mystery a la Ross Macdonald, but sometimes a girl just wants to have fun.

Leave a Reply

