WRITING DOWN THE BONES by Natalie Goldberg

Writing Down the Bones   It is odd that we never question the feasibility of a football team practicing long hours for one game; yet in writing we rarely give ourselves the space for practice.

Natalie Goldberg has been exploring the connection between Zen Buddhism and writing for several decades.  She has written a number of books on writing, and perhaps Writing Down the Bones – Freeing the Writer Within is her most well-known work.

Write what disturbs you, what you fear, what you have not been willing to speak about. Be willing to be split open

I don’t know why I read books about writing.  I don’t write.  I will never write.  I don’t have a book in me.  All I have in me are opinions.  With no plot.

Play around. Dive into absurdity and write. Take chances. You will succeed if you are fearless of failure.

I read all these beautiful books, and they all look so effortless.  And yet I know that there was mighty effort involved in them.

I don’t think everyone wants to create the great American novel, but we all have a dream of telling our stories-of realizing what we think, feel, and see before we die. Writing is a path to meet ourselves and become intimate.

Well, for me, reading books about writing is like a person who never cooks reading books of recipes, which as Bea Wilson said, are stories of pretend meals.  Books about writing are stories of pretend books.

I love them.

Leave a Reply

