THE GIRLS OF TONSIL LAKE by Liz Flaherty

girls-of-tonsil-lake1  The Girls of Tonsil Lake is like Sex and the City.  Without the sex.  And without the city.  And without all that angst.  OK, so it’s not anything at all like Sex and the City.  But there ARE four female friends.

These four friends have been BFFs since their dicey childhood in a downscale trailer community on the seedy Tonsil Lake,  so named because it looks like a tonsil.  I’ll be damned.  I have no idea what a tonsil looks like, do you?   Thyroid?  Sure.  Liver? Check.  Heart?  Got it.  Kidney?  We got pools that shape. But tonsil?  There’s a new one for ya.

They scrabbled their way out of that life into lives of what passes for normalcy these days, and this is their story.

OK, let me ask you a question.  If when you are reading a book and it’s not a sad story about dogs or horses, and you snivel just a bit,  does that mean it is Chick Lit?  Yeah.  I thought so.  Ok, so I sniffled just a bit while reading.  All right, I actually had a few real tears.   Phooey.  So sue me, I sobbed in places.  OK?  Satisfied now?  Good.  May we continue please?

I am a total sucker for female friends stories.  I read any that I come across.  And really. when you get right down to it, they are all the same, because when you get right down to it, life is all the same.  There are only two or three human stories, and they go on repeating themselves as fiercely as if they had never happened before.  Willa Cather said that, and that chick could write!   Well, this Liz Flaherty chick can write, too.

I think that sometimes Chick Lit is used in a derogatory manner, but literature – stories — that address women’s thoughts and emotions deserve a better term.  There probably is one.  I’m just too busy reading to rummage around looking for it.

Go read the book.  Even if you are a guy.  Maybe especially if you are a guy.

 

3 comments on “THE GIRLS OF TONSIL LAKE by Liz Flaherty

  1. lizkflaherty says:

    Thanks a million, Marti!

  2. Maggie says:

    Glad I’m not the only one who cried when reading this. It’s not a sad story, just emotional. Signed, your biggest fan.

Leave a Reply

