The Einstein Intersection Redeux – by Samuel R. Delany

EinsteinI think I am becoming one volume short of a full encyclopedia.  I had read Delany’s The Einstein Intersection way back in August of last year, and completely forgot that I had done so.  So after just recently reading Babel-17, I wanted to read his other award winner.  And of course, it didn’t take more than a couple of paragraphs for it all to come hurtling back to me.

I didn’t like it all that much, while I really loved Babel-17.  Well most of Babel-17, except for the preachy parts about I and You and we are what we think, pace Descartes.

So if you have forgotten what I wrote about The Einstein Intersection (and frankly, why would you remember it?) or weren’t aware of this babbling blog back then, here it is again for your reading bemusement.    The Einstein Intersection.

It might interest you to know that Delany’s intended title for the book was A Fabulous, Formless Darkness.  Yeah, I can totally see that for the title.

The novel opens with a quote from James Joyce’s Finnegans Wake.

“It darkles, (tinct, tinct) all this our funanimal world.”

 It contains extracts from Jean Genet, Plotinus, Gregory Corso, Jean-Paul Sartre and the Marquis de Sade.  It’s nothing if not erudite. 

Well, go darkle, my funanimal friends, and may the furze be with you.

Leave a Reply

