THE SHOULDERS OF GIANTS by Jim Cliff

shoulders of giantsIf I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. – Isaac Newton”    Not really sure what this quote has to do with the plot of the book, but it was a good read nonetheless.

It is a P. I. detective mystery,  a thriller, not too dark, or maybe I have become so inured  to blood, guts, mayhem, and terrorism in Real Life, that reading about it doesn’t have the impact it once did.   Jake Abraham is a child of the 80s, brought up by Jim Rockford, Thomas Magnum and three beautiful girls who worked for a man named Charlie. He’s loving his new job as a Private Investigator and already has his first client – a disgraced former police captain whose daughter has disappeared.

OK, so by the plot description we can see he is a rookie, and this is actually his very first case.

The call came on Sunday.  I picked it up on the third ring and said, for the first time, “Abraham and Associates, Jake Abraham speaking.”  I’d never actually spoken to a client before.  I wondered if there was anything special I should say next.

Well, the police captain’s daughter turns up dead, and off we go in search of the killer.  There upon continues a series of murders, each one containing a dead person with a distinctive cut on the bottom of the foot,  but nothing else to connect the random assortment of victims.

Good plotting, good ending, nice pacing.  Everything you want in a thriller-type mystery.  I liked it.

The author is British, and the book is set in the USA, and only a few Britishisms escaped the proofreader, giving it away.  But I am easy-going.  I am more into Is It Spelled Correctly and Have You Used The Wrong Word,  so I found it enjoyable.

 

Leave a Reply

