MURDER IN THE WINTER by Steve Demaree

Murder in WinterThis is the second in the Dekker Cozy Mystery series, and although after the first book, 52 Steps to Murder I said I didn’t think I would read any more of the series, well, I lied, and after checking my kabillion-title TBR list, saw that I had five more of the series in my little electronic possession, so I figured what the hey, give it another shot.

I am embarrassed to admit that Lt. Decker and his homicide sidekick  Sgt. Lou Murdock are starting to grow on me.

It’s kind of hard to describe the tone of these books.  They might be called Christian Fiction Lite, because Lt. Cy Dekker talks casually about his daily devotional reading and a prayer.  As he says,

After all, God was around on the first day.  Murders didn’t happen until after He had made a few imperfect people.  I needed to put Him first.  I never prayed for God to reveal the murderer’s identity to me.  How could I pray for that?  Would would I say?  “Lord, expose this person’s sins while not revealing mine.”?

He never begins his day without this, and Sgt. Murdock usually has a message of the day  from God  related to the case at hand.  These are never particularly helpful in solving the crime, but are always referential to the situation at hand.   The theme of the messages for this case are all titles of old TV shows.  So I guess the tone in general of these books could be described as warm and decent and affectionate.

The story is  told in  the first person voice of Cy Dekker, and are gently humorous, and in the somewhat stilted manner that some police seem to use.  For instance,

…so I ambled to the house to get my camera to take some photos.  I would have scurried, but I knew that the prints wouldn’t melt before I returned.  Besides, it had been many years since I had been able to scurry. A man my age and size can only scurry downhill, and a robust man proceeding downhill will not stop scurrying until the downhill element ceases to exist.

And

It’s called experience, which is what happens to you that you wish had happened to someone else.

OK; one more

Before I could sample the Baked Alaska, Mycroft made a few gyrations and fell face first into his.  From what I could tell, his hairline landed about Barrow while his chin touched down in Anchorage.

This case is about a series of deaths which occur at an isolated inn, during a big snowstorm.  Lt. Dekker receives a note on his car windshield saying “Be at Overlook Inn at Precipice Point this weekend.  I have murdered, and you can be there to watch the bodies fall.  Neither you, rotund doofus Lt. Dekker nor your stooge, Sgt. Murdock, will be able to stop me.”

It turned out to be a good mystery, involving a lot of local actors, and guess what!  More tunnels, like in the first book.  But in this case, the tunnels have much less to do with the case solving than in the first book.  I wonder if tunnels will be a recurring theme for this series?  Hmmmm.

I sort of had a glimmer of who the murderer might be, but definitely not a strong enough glimmer to announce it for certain, more of a flicker, you might say.  And then only if you were being generous about my detecting skills.

So all in all, a nice book.  I think my opinion of the first book still stands;  I think maybe the author is getting better at this.  baked alaska

2 comments on “MURDER IN THE WINTER by Steve Demaree

  1. srmallery says:

    Looks like a good one, and I LOVE how you crossed out your ‘real thoughts’ re her drinking! LOL

  2. […] you about the first one,  52 Steps to Murder, here,   and the second one, Murder in the Winter, here.    I was needing something light to cleanse my palate after that heavy calorie meal of […]

Leave a Reply

