KINDNESS GOES UNPUNISHED by Craig Johnson

Reading my way through the Sheriff Walt Longmire series.  This is the third in the series.  I have already read the 6th and the 8th, I think because I got them free.  Don’t remember, it was a while ago.  If you put in Craig Johnson in the blog search window, you will get links to my ramblings on those two books.

So, in this volume, we are again riding along with Walt Longmire,  sheriff of Wyoming’s Absaroka County for almost a quarter of a century.  Walt tags along with his good friend Henry Standing Bear on a trip to Philadelphia, and he’s in for a shock. When a vicious attack on his daughter Cady leaves her near death, Walt discovers that she has unwittingly become embroiled in a deadly political cover-up.

With Henry, Deputy Victoria Moretti, the entire Moretti clan of Philadelphia police officers, and Dog as backup, Sheriff Longmire intends to introduce a little western justice from his saddlebag of tricks to the City of Brotherly Love, where no act of kindness goes unpunished.

That is the basic blurb.  I now have read 5 of the series.  I liked this one least so far, and it has nothing to do with the quality of the mystery, or any of that.  It is because I am from the Philadelphia area, have friends who live in the city, and I used to have a business in the city.  And there are references to streets that don’t exist, and the geography is a bit wonky from time to time.  I think I recall reading that Johnson has some experience in the city, so that may account for the aspersion on the city’s denizens, which is fine, too.   But I think my real disappointment is that it is not in Wyoming.   I can read a kabillion police procedurals set in big cities.  But one of the things I so like about the Longmire series is it’s setting.  The setting is almost a character in itself.

So, final judgment:  it’s fine.  It is only me being cranky about it.  Ignore me.  Move along.  He is a really good writer;  his style appeals to me.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

